{short description of image} International SPEEDWAY {short description of image}



South Africa v Rest of the World

1982-83 Durban (New Kingsmead) South Africa 23 Rest of the World 25
Denzil Kent 7 John Barker 9
This match was actually the first of a series Gary Prommel 6 Pete Smith 8
between South Africa and Overseas, details of Derek Harrison 5 Wally Hill 4
which are here. The reason for the change in Noddy Naude 2 Phil Kynman 3
name from Rest of the World to Overseas, Mike Cothill 2 Colin Ackroyd 1
after this match, is not known. Alan Simpson 1 Flippie Blignaut 0

1991-92 International Select won this "best-of-three" series 2-0 Top Scorers Final
UNOFFICIAL 03.01* : Germiston (Corobrik) South Africa 35 International Select 49
17.01 : Germiston (Corobrik) South Africa 32 International Select 57 C Stonehewer, G Havelock, J Wainwright
* Gary Havelock lowered the track record to 46.70 sec in ht.1

Report on this series by Christian Weber:
An International "All Star Team" toured South Africa in January and February of 1992, which took part in two unofficial Test matches against South Africa, three if a decider would have been neccessary.

In preparation for the International matches, it had been decided that the winner of the S.A. National championship final would be captain of the Springboks in place of Alan Simpson, forced to retire in 1990 after breaking three vertebrae. However, when Warren Meier won the championship, certain candidates for team selection were not impressed at the prospect of riding under a 22-year old with no test match experience, and eventually the captaincy was handed to Noddy Naudè, a well deserved reward for his loyalty and service to South African speedway. Meier swallowed his disappointment - and was second only to Deon Prinsloo as South Africa's best rider in the International series.

The International All Stars included only one previous visitor, England International and 1990 world finalist Richard Knight. The remaining team members were 1991 British champion Gary Havelock - who emerged as the star of the tour - British first division riders Carl Stonehewer and Nigel Leaver, British second division rider John Wainwright, and Hungarian Internationals Robert Nagy and Robert Csillik - the first East European riders to visit South Africa.

Not surprisingly perhaps, South Africa's return to test match speedway was not covered in glory. However, they certainly weren't disgraced either. Local riders Ian Richter and Grant Foley in particular were totally inexperienced at this level, although most, Meier and Prinsloo apart, were dogged by a lack of competitive equipment. South Africa included four new "caps" in Prinsloo, Foley, Richter and Meier.

The tourists won the first Test at the Corobrik Speedway in Germiston 49-35, opening up a 12-point lead early on. The home side held them to this, and even reduced the deficit at one stage before the visitors hit back. The touring internationals took the second Test, again at Germiston, 57-32, and this time they were in the driving seat from the start, S.A. starting a brief rally only for the visitors to get back on top immediately. Individually, Havelock began with a paid maximum in the first test, well backed by Knight and Nagy, with Prinsloo the best of the local riders, backed by Meier. Havelock again led the way for the tourists with another paid maximum in the second test, backed by Stonehewer and Nagy, with Meier and Prinsloo again the best for the home side.
South Africa Total International Select Total
Deon Prinsloo 12 9 21 Gary Havelock (Eng) 10 10 20
Warren Meier 9 11 20 John Wainwright (Eng) 9 9 18
Denzil Kent 7 6 13 Robert Nagy (Hun) 9 8 17
Gary Prommel 4 2 6 Richard Knight (Eng) 10 6 16
Noddy Naude 2 2 4 Carl Stonehewer (Eng) 5 9 14
Grant Foley 1 1 2 Robert Csillik (Hun) 4 9 13
Ian Richter 1 1 2 Nigel Leaver (Eng) 2 6 8

{short description of image}
Contributors : Christian Weber, Andy Reid, David Austin

© Brian Collins